Odeon Cinema, Ross Parade, Wallington, Greater London
A view of the cinema decorated for George V's jubilee. Opened in May 1934, this was one of the earliest built this Odeon cinema chain. It closed in 1957, with only the entrance and foyer remaining. Since the early 2000s, a Wetherspoons pub has occupied the site, using the original entrance. The Odeon cinema company was founded in 1930 by Oscar Deutsch. During the 1930s, it grew to become one of the country’s major chains of cinemas. The first five Odeon cinemas opened in 1933, and by 1936 there were 142 across the country. Although each Odeon was unique, the use of a set range of architectural features meant that most of the cinemas were instantly recognisable as an 'Odeon', with their distinctive Modernist style. The slogan, ‘Oscar Deutsch Entertains Our Nation’ (ODEON) was also synonymous with the brand.